Michael Miller Christmas Fabric Preview

I was lucky enough to be given a big fat stack of new Christmas fabrics from Michael Miller Fabrics to play with. When I opened the box it was like my own little private Christmas party. I may have actually squealed! These are the lovely little fabrics before I got busy cutting.

Beautiful Fabric Bundle from Michael Miller Fabrics

Beautiful Fabric Bundle from Michael Miller Fabrics

Since we’re going to visit with Santa very soon, my first project had to be a beautiful Christmas dress. Tie Dye Diva had just released The Pearl Pattern and I knew it would be beautiful in these fabrics. I chose the Candy Cane Stripe, Trim the Trees and Tangly lights in the lovely blue and red shades.

DSC_0180

This pattern looks complex, but it’s really quite simple – the hardest part being construction of the bib.

DSC_0183

The dress turned out gorgeous and we got so many compliments while we were out doing our photo shoot.

DSC_0298 DSC_0296 DSC_0301

This is the response I got when I said “be sassy!” to my youngest. Ha!

DSC_0307

One of my customers saw the adorable prints on Huneydoodles’ Facebook page and requested a matching bow tie and skirt for her kids for Christmas. I make a LOT of bow ties for Huneydoodles (tutorial here) and knew that the diagonal stripes in the Candy Cane Stripe would be PERFECT on a little boy’s bow tie. The perfect complementary fabric was Trim the Trees in green.

photo

My absolute favorite skirt pattern is Sugarplum, by Tie Dye Diva. It looks amazing on and is so very simple to make. I modified the pattern to omit the underskirt ( I always say patterns and recipes are just suggestions). The skirt turned out adorable and brother and sister couldn’t be cuter in these fabrics.

008 009

Next up was an apron for my dear Mom. She will get this as one of her Christmas gifts. She made my daughters Christmas aprons a couple of years ago and never got around to making one for herself. Since she is a phenomenal cook, I knew she’d be the perfect recipient. I used Butterick 5474 and made the half apron with the pocket and ric rac details. I think it turned out so pretty! I can see her making little gingerbread men right now.

016

So, after all of that cutting, I was left with a lot of scraps that were not quite big enough for a project, but I wasn’t ready to quit just yet. Naturally, I reached for a strip skirt pattern. I love the Sugar and Spice pattern from Pink Fig. The largest piece needed for this skirt is 8 x 9, so there was enough to make this adorably twirly Christmas skirt. I was able to use eight different fabrics for this skirt and I think it turned out great – so bold and not the typical Christmas skirt. I love having the pink thrown in there. It gives it a little touch of the unusual.

strip skirt

My youngest is going to see The Nutcracker with her class next week and this will be absolutely perfect for that. I imagine she’ll be doing a lot of twirling down the aisles after seeing Clara and all of the other dancers.

DSC_0266

All of these fabrics are so completely adorable and I am so grateful that I got the chance to play with them. The whole collection is so pretty and so fun.

Happy sewing,

Jen

 

Leave a Reply

